Board of Directors

Lei Chen
Chairman of the Board of Directors and Co-Chief Executive Officer
Lei Chen is a founding member of our company and has served as our chairman of the board of directors since March 2021 and co-chief executive officer since April 2023. Mr. Chen has also served as our director since July 2020. Mr. Chen served as our chief executive officer from July 2020 to April 2023, as our chief technology officer from 2016 to 2020 and as our director from February 2017 to July 2018. Prior to joining our company, Mr. Chen served as chief technology officer of Xinyoudi Studio since 2011. Mr. Chen’s prior working experience includes internships with Google (Nasdaq: GOOG), Yahoo Inc. and IBM (NYSE: IBM) in the United States. Mr. Chen was trained as a data scientist and is a prolific publisher on the subject of data mining, and has presented his works in large international conferences, such as the ACM SIGMOD Conference, Very Large Data Bases (VLDB) Conferences and International Conference on Machine Learning. Mr. Chen received his bachelor’s degree in computer science from Tsinghua University and his doctoral degree in computer science from University of Wisconsin-Madison.
Jiazhen Zhao
Executive Director and Co-Chief Executive Officer
Jiazhen Zhao is a founding member of our company and has served as our director and co-chief executive officer since April 2023. Mr. Jiazhen Zhao served as a senior vice president from 2018 to 2023. Mr. Zhao has held several leadership roles across our company. He started our Duo Duo Grocery business and led the operations of a few key product categories in the Pinduoduo platform, including agriculture. He also led our supply chain efforts. Mr. Zhao received his bachelor’s degree in e-commerce management from South China University of Technology.
Anthony Kam Ping Leung
Independent Director
Anthony Kam Ping Leung has served as our independent director and chairman of the audit committee since August 2019. Mr. Kam has more than 30 years of experience in the financial services industry in Asia. He is a Chartered Financial Analyst and a chartered accountant in Singapore. Mr. Kam also serves as an independent director of OCBC Bank Ltd (China) since September 2021. Mr. Kam served as the deputy chief executive officer and the executive director of HSBC Bank (China) Company Limited (“HSBC China”) from February 2016 to April 2018 and served as the chief financial officer of HSBC China from May 2013 to February 2016. Prior to that, Mr. Kam served as the chief financial officer of HSBC Bank (Singapore) Limited (“HSBC Singapore”) from September 2005 to May 2013. In addition to financial accounting and control, management accounting and tax responsibilities, Mr. Kam had direct oversight on specific risk management functions such as treasury product control and asset & liabilities management. Mr. Kam was also a member of the asset and liabilities management meeting and a member of the risk management meeting under the executive committee of HSBC Singapore and HSBC China. Mr. Kam received bachelor of science from University of Hong Kong and his master degree in applied finance from Macquarie University.
Chair of the Compensation Committee
Chair of the Audit Committee
Haifeng Lin
Haifeng Lin has served as our director since June 2017. Mr. Lin is currently the president of Tencent Financial Technology, and a corporate vice president of Tencent Holdings Limited (HKEx: 00700). Prior to that, he served as general manager of the merger and acquisitions department of Tencent Technology (Shenzhen) Company Limited, an affiliate of Tencent Holdings. From July 2003 to November 2010, Mr. Lin served in different roles in finance, strategy and business operation at Microsoft. Prior to that, Mr. Lin worked at Nokia China from 1999 to 2001. Mr. Lin received his bachelor’s degree in engineering from Zhejiang University in June 1997 and his master’s degree in business administration from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania in May 2003.
Ivonne M.C.M. Rietjens
Independent Director
Ivonne M.C.M. Rietjens has served as our independent director since August 2023. Dr. Rietjens has more than 25 years of experience in food safety. She has been a full professor at Wageningen University since 2001 and is currently head of the division of toxicology. She is an elected member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) and the chairperson of the KNAW Scientific Council for Natural Sciences and Engineering. She currently serves as the chairperson of the Expert Panel of the Flavor and Extract Manufacturers Association (FEMA) of the United States advising on GRAS (Generally Recognized As Safe) notifications for new food flavors and is an elected member of the French Academy of Agriculture. She is also a board member of Skal Biocontrole, an independent organization that supervises and certifies the organic food chain in the Netherlands. Previously, she served as the chairperson of the Dutch Society for Toxicology from 1999 to 2005 and served on the Academic Board at Wageningen University from 2012 to 2017. She was also an active member of several committees on food and occupational safety, including panels and working groups of the European Food Safety Authority and the Dutch Health Council. From 2013 to 2021, she was a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the National Institute of Public Health & Hygiene (RIVM). Dr. Rietjens received her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in molecular life sciences from Wageningen University and her Ph.D. degree in toxicology from Wageningen University.
Member of the Audit Committee
Member of the Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee
George Yong-Boon Yeo
Independent Director
George Yong-Boon Yeo has served as our independent director and chairman of our nominating and corporate governance committee since July 2018. He is an independent non-executive director of AIA Group Limited (HKEx: 01299). Prior to that, Mr. Yeo served 23 years in the government of Singapore, and was Minister for Information and the Arts, Health, Trade & Industry, and Foreign Affairs. Mr. Yeo is also a member of the Board of Trustees of Berggruen Institute on Governance and International Advisory Panel of Peking University, among others. Mr. Yeo studied Engineering at Cambridge University on a President’s Scholarship, graduating with a Double First in 1976, and became a Signals Officer in the Singapore Armed Forces. After graduating from the Singapore Command and Staff College in 1979, he was posted to the Republic of Singapore Air Force. Mr. Yeo graduated with an MBA (Baker Scholar) from the Harvard Business School in 1985. He was appointed Chiefof- Staff of the Air Staff from 1985 to 1986 and Director of Joint Operations and Planning in the Defence Ministry from 1985 to 1988, attaining the rank of Brigadier-General.
Chair of the Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee
Member of the Compensation Committee
Member of the Audit Committee

Search Investor Relations